Give Caesar his Due

20747912_sThe other day, I took out my phone to check-in to Facebook, which is a little out of character for me, since I’m more likely to hit Twitter first. Anyway, I had this thought. I recalled a time, back in the day – even now though, someone is always getting reprimanded because of their sociability in the work place. Actually, when I think about it, I’ve been in legal so many years, I can’t say what it’s like in other businesses. However, I guess I’ve always been sort of a butterfly at the office – taking five minutes, and flitting from desk to desk; cubicle to cubicle, office to office. I always got my work done, but I’ve continually had the need to interact with co-workers. I mean, you’re with these people seven to eight hours a day. I’ve always had the philosophy – you cannot spend that much time with someone and not say a word. I would definitely argue that you’d need at least two, three, or five minutes to stretch and air out the old gray cells. That’s only fair, am I right? That is why for the last ten years or so, I’ve been desperate to cut the chains. It is seriously time to run on my own clock.

Sorry for the digression. Moving on. I caught myself thinking about how many times a day the average person takes out that phone to send a text message, update their facebook status, or clicks on Twitter to send a tweet. Or has to go to MSN even, or whatever other “Home Page” you use to find the latest news feeds. On the other side of that coin, and what I’m basically getting at…..how many times has your boss caught you doing so? Since the computer age has gone full tilt – many companies, I know, have instituted rules/policies regarding these habits. I know at home in New York/New Jersey, once a month we had those dreaded office meetings to keep the employees up to date on things of this nature. Whoo, I must say – I always hated those, because 99% of the time we were all guaranteed to get a smack on the wrist for something. I think I’ve watched that show The Office maybe once, so I cannot compare, but from my standpoint – no fun at all!

Since I’ve been here in Virginia they’re not really big on meetings – well, not where I’ve worked. Where I am now, there are only four of us, so meetings would be a “little” unnecessary. In writing this, I realized I’ve only been on social media since the spring of 2011, and because I have worked part-time all of that time, the realization that I’ve been very fortunate, just hit me. Think about the question, and ask yourself how much time you spend on-line via your phone or computer. Or, is every one of those extra minutes spent fraternizing around the halls of you workplace?

My husband always reminds me of how I’ve always hated working. Let me just add, the “Millennials” have an entirely different attitude, and guess what? I’m not one. I should have married rich, or at least started to knock out those manuscripts way earlier? But, who wouldn’t prefer sitting at their desk at home staring at a computer screen versus, giving Caesar his due. I mean, they’re not going to hand you a paycheck just for showing up. Am I right? Because, no matter what, if you’re in the building you’re working.

27 thoughts on “Give Caesar his Due

    • Oh hi, Lisa. Didn’t realize you had stopped by. I think I forgot to check my e-mails before I went here. Isn’t it funny with Twitter? I’ve been that way since I came onto social media. I was told once, that you’re more social if you like twitter better. Again, thanks for stopping by.!end

  1. Pingback: New Tech Gadget | Thursday's Child

  2. Greеtinցs from Colorado! I’mbored to tears at work so І
    decided to browѕe your blog oon my iphone during lunch break.

    I enjoy the information ƴou provide hеre and can’t wait to take a look
    when I get home. I’m amazed at how fast yoսr blog loaded on my mobile ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, fantastiϲ blog!

  3. I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great.
    I do not know who you are but certainly you are going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

  4. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted
    to say that I’ve really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.
    In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you
    write again very soon!

  5. I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme.
    Did you create this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?
    Plz respond as I’m looking to design my own
    blog and would like to find out where u got this from.

    thank you

  6. Hi there I am so happy I found your blog, I really found you by accident, while I was researching on Digg for something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like to
    say thank you for a fantastic post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time
    to read through it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I
    will be back to read more, Please do keep up the fantastic jo.

  7. This design is incredible! You most certainly know how to keep a reader
    entertained. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved
    to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Great job.

    I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented
    it. Too cool!

    • A little late getting back, but thank you for dropping in. If you want to begin your own blog, just remember – write what’s in your heart and you’ll do fine. Thanks for stopping by and for leaving a comment. @end

Leave a Reply

