Oh, For The Memories

11474012_sLike a high school reunion, over the past nine years I have had encounters with three people who I haven’t see or heard from in way longer than that. Just the other day the third old friend found me on LinkedIn.  I’m certain I don’t have to tell you what emotions and memories are stirred up in such an instance. Whenever I watch one of my favorite movies, Die Hard With A Vengeance, my mind goes to this particular friend, and you know who you are. Why? Because there is a scene outside the 72nd Street and Broadway subway station – right where they lived – oh so many years ago; especially when the camera pans toward Gray’s Papaya. This setting shakes me, and I’m instantly transported to that location, and if at that moment, you placed your hand on the spot where I sat, it would be cold to the touch, because my spirit had already taken flight there.

Because this friendship holds such a special place in my heart I had an absolute compelling tug to write about it. When I think of this friend, I recall the Steve Miller Band, Steely Dan, Fleetwood Mac, the Promenade Cafe at Rockefeller Center, and Joe Allen Restaurant, to name a few. All great souvenirs that will stay with me a lifetime, and way, way, way ago became a part of my make-up like breathing, eating, or getting up in the morning. Some friendships are just that way, aren’t they? Even though you lose each other over time, each one has left a ripple, if you will, on the other life – something where a simple facial expression, a name from the past, or a smell will suddenly create a jerk to the brain, and plummet you back in time.

Do you have such a friend? These special people were, I believe, placed in our lives for a reason; if only to fill our later years with thoughts of happiness from a time you thought you could hold onto forever. Recollections that will sustain you while rocking on the front porch of the respite home. And, although Father Time has visited both lives, as well as life itself with the highs and lows, there remains this unbreakable connection. You see, we didn’t know it then, but this bond formed all those years ago for a time such as this, or maybe, just because we both needed each other. If you have one of these friends that turns up again after so many years, believe me it’s for a reason.

So, yesterday I walked around with this goofy smile the entire day – remembering a time when life spelled: simple, easy and unhurried.  And, not that I want to promote Facebook, or LinkedIn, but what wonderful tools that helped reconnect two buddies lost over time. So, hello again, old friend, and remember this line from author Richard Bach – Don’t be dismayed by good-byes. A farewell is necessary before you can meet again. And meeting again, after moments or lifetimes, is certain for those who are friends.

Photo courtesy of 123rf.com

Info courtesy of IMDB.com

Joe Allen Restaurant

Gray’s Papaya

4 thoughts on “Oh, For The Memories

Leave a Reply

