Happy Birthday America

iStock_000016462515XSmallAs much as I complain of missing home (the Northeast), on days like today it makes me proud to live in the area that I do.  This new Virginia, the one that lurked somewhere way in the future when my grandparents were alive, has surprised even I.  But, as we drive along these streets, and listen very carefully I can almost hear the sound of the foot soldiers as they march deep in the surrounding woods.  Why do I say that?  Because of the history that has taken place here, the beginning of this wonderful country.  If you want to celebrate its birth, you cannot do so without recalling where it all began:  Hampton Roads, America’s Historic Triangle – Jamestown, Yorktown and Williamsburg.  When the English formed the Virginia Company, they did not settle on the shores of Daytona Beach, Florida or Portland, Maine, no, they settled right here in Jamestown.

I found that if I take the Jamestown-Scotland Ferry to South Central Virginia, it takes one half hour off my trip.  Therefore, I treated myself to that first ride last weekend as I made my way to care for my aunt.  As the ferry makes its way out of port and in to the James River, you get the full sight of the grounds on which that first colony began.  Along with that, a replica of the three ships that journeyed those settlers here can be seen at the shore  – the Susan Constant, Discovery and The Godspeed.  And, although my people were here against their will, a sense of profoundness came over me as I took in the sight.  It can actually become overwhelming as you try to comprehend the entire story.  I have sat in one of those replicated ships, and in doing so, I tried to imagine traversing a monstrous sea for weeks on end, exposed to the elements, heading for an uncertain future.

Because my ancestors came from a completely different area of the world, one I have never known, I can almost be grateful.  As an American, when you think about it, would you want to be reared in any other part of this world?  I think not. Why?  Because this is America, the greatest country on the planet.  And, no matter what you were upset about today, or last week having to do with our government – when you take in the whole picture – I can’t imagine myself, and my family living, growing, working, or enjoying any other part of the globe than this great United States of America.  Happy Birthday America.  Happy Fourth of July everyone.

Photo courtesy of iStockPhoto

Information from Wikipedia

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday America

  1. I read this when you first posted it and really enjoyed it! Lots of gratitude in it. It’s also very thought-provoking. We Americans have been very blessed. We are being blessed still.

Leave a Reply

