Horror Films

Halloween is a big day of treats for the little ones, and sometimes not so small. This post is not in observance of that day, but I’d like to reminisce a bit on the great horror films that have come and gone, and have not been forgotten – this week and next is a prime time to catch all of the ones you’ve missed.  Also, as some of you may have noticed, I have cut my post back to once a week – that day being Wednesday.  Why you ask?  I have jumped, head first into my writing again, finally.  I’m trusting you all to take a deep breath and reign in your frustrations (Ha-Ha).

My husband found a movie called “Terror In The Isles” the other day.  I don’t remember this one, but it featured clips from a variety of pictures, and Nancy Allen did the narration.  It reminded me of the early days when my husband occupied one end of the sectional, and my daughter and I, curled up on the other. A simple Saturday night with the old man (well, young man then, and our teenager as we huddled to comfort each other, watching the weekend feature.  I mean who doesn’t love a big bowl of popcorn with your best buddies and a great horror flick.  I went on-line and did a bit of searching, and through the years there have, in deed, been more scary stories dotting the silver screen than one can list.  But, let me name a few of our favorites:

My Horror Movie List

Psycho – 1960 **
What Ever Happened to Baby Jane – 1962
The Birds – 1963 **
Hush…Hush, Sweet Charlotte – 1964
Rosemary’s Baby – 1968 **
Night Of The Living Dead – 1968
Tales From The Crypt – 1972 **
The Exorcist – 1973  **
Race With The Devil – 1975 *
Burnt Offering – 1976 *
The Omen – 1976 *
Halloween – 1978 **
Amityville Horror – 1979 *
When A Stranger Calls 1979 **
Dressed To Kill – 1980 **
Friday The 13th – 1980 **
The Hearse – 1980 *
The Shining – 1980 **
Friday The 13th/Part 2 – 1981 **
Ghost Story – 1981 *
The Entity – 1981 *
Poltergeist – 1983 **
Cujo – 1983 **

How many of these do you remember?  I must admit, a few have become more Hollywood entertainment than horror.  On the other hand, there are some on the list for me that I still haven’t grown enough to watch again.  But, if you love this genre, your time of year has definitely arrived – time to indulge.  Now, go fire up the old DVD, throw a big bag of popcorn in the microwave, and curl up with you favorite movie buddy.  However, before you do that, let me know your favorite horror film.  If you have any questions with regard to any of the movies listed, just follow this link to the Internet Movie Database (IMDb).

* To scary to watch again
** Watched again in reruns when daughter got older

Again, if you’re here and have not clicked the “like” button on my Facebook Fan Page, please do so.  The button is located to the upper right of this page.  Thank you.

4 thoughts on “Horror Films

    • My husband has always been a horror film person, and when my daughter got old enough, she followed right in his foot steps. Sometimes, they watched together, while I did something else.

Leave a Reply

