Love For One’s Country

This is the ten-year anniversary of 9/11, and I seriously wanted to write about something else, since we have been, this entire week, inundated with hundreds of articles reminding us of the event.  However, after watching the Thursday night kick-off of America’s biggest sport – Football, I allowed myself to get pulled in, which prompted this post.  Before the start of that game, a young woman came out to sing, traditionally, the National Anthem initiating the occasion.  Following that, military jets performed their ritual flyover, pumping the seat fillers into a united frenzy. I know it’s not Independence Day or Labor Day, but 9/11 conjures up thoughts of Patriotism in the whole country.

This morning on Fox News, they aired a story about a group in Massachusetts wanting to ban the Pledge of Allegiance in schools, citing it had no educational benefit for the children.  More disturbing information has been that the families of first responders of that infamous day have not been invited to the memorial.  As if all of this has not been enough, New York’s Mayor, has stated there can be no mention of God at any of the services.

When I reach back, way back, I remember having to place my hand over my heart, and recite the Pledge of Allegiance as a child in grammar school – not only me, but the entire class, and this included the teacher.  Along with this also came…wait, let me whisper…prayer.  I don’t know about anyone else out there, but sometimes, I am a little embarrassed when I think of these ridiculous new rules.  We have come this far, and in our progress have proposed, “In God We Trust,” and “One Nation Under God” be eliminated from our society.  The very phrases adopted in the founding of this land.  But, who am I?  I’m a citizen, that’s who.  And I must ask, as a voter when did any of this become a crime?  The law makers and organizations must remember, each and every one of our ancestors came from someplace else.  Yes, our children need to know from where their ancestors heralded, but at the same time if the child lives in America, then this is now a part of that legacy.  Why must it now be a crime to place a hand over one’s heart or pray in school, the same as we did in an earlier time.

Being from New York, it struck at the core of me to lose the Twin Towers.  But, to add the thousands of lives from the WTC, a lone field in Pennsylvania, and the Pentagon is too much to comprehend.  It makes one reflect, and in doing so I recall an office Christmas party at Windows On The World;  my husband going for an interview with an Engineering firm on the 85th floor of one of the towers, and lastly I recollect posters, pictures and messages of all sorts dressing the walls in Pennsylvania Station, placed there by loved ones of the missing – two weeks following the incident.  Let me ask a question: Have you ever been abroad, and come home through Customs, and have the Agent say, “Welcome home?”  If you were away for any amount of time that reception takes on a whole new meaning, which helps you realize this really is the best country in the world.  That being said, it all helps you understand why we are hated so much as a nation.

Let me say one more thing, with regard to prayer in schools, I find it amazing that Madalyn Murray O’Hair’s son William J. Murray,  is the president of the Religious Freedom Coalition in Washington, D.C.  Who is Madalyn Murray O’Hair, you ask? Only, the atheist sponsoring the court cases to ban said prayer.  Yes, we are in turmoil, and hated by many.  It all makes me wish that as a land we could make it to the same page, returning to our original values – One God – One Nation.  Then, I believe God really would bless us as a united people.

Oh, and just in case you cannot read the verse in the picture:

2 Chronicles 7:14 :  If My people, who are called by My name, shall humble themselves, pray, seek, crave, and require of necessity My face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven, forgive their sin, and heal their land.  

Photo courtesy of iStock Photo

Leave a Reply

