A New Millennium

It took me the longest time to warm up to the social networking craze. Who remembers the old days when most of an author’s promotions, were done by their publisher?  I don’t know when all this happened, it took place so rapidly, but being more active in self-promotion is key to staying in the game these days. Along with self-publishing that has sprung forth, a person’s participation in advertising is crucial.  Then, out of nowhere entered Facebook and Twitter. I recall watching hosts of television shows, and listening to radio announcers close with: Find us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter.  I also recall talking to myself about all the meetings and workshops I know I missed on the subjects. But, my response to all of it remained the same, “Well, I’m not gonna.” My uppermost desire two years ago simply involved acquiring a website. I wanted that more than anything else.

Then, suddenly, that door opened and I became catapulted, literally into cyberspace. At that time I still held true to my first instincts. I did not want private/personal information floating around the Internet. But, everywhere I turned, even though I heard my own complaints echoed from others, a force continued to pull me in.  So, here I am, two years down the road with a website, a Twitter, Facebook, and Facebook Fan Page account.  At the time I had no idea the kicking and screaming worked as a harness, so to speak-holding me back from all that I could be, as well as, limiting the exposure of my name to my immediate circle of family and friends.  If one desires a career in writing, a ton of  directions are already out there. The person hoping for this must jump on the road, and follow the signs – they are clearly posted. Now, some may ask what is it that I’m promoting on a Fan Page, since I am not yet published. I look at it this way, if I’m not out there, no one will ever know who I am. If I want a career in writing, I’ve got to hustle. Besides, when that “call” does come, I’ll already have been frolicking in the pool, which means my daily routine shouldn’t be upset that drastically. In addition, the cheering section will already be in place, don’t you think?

If someone wants to do this, it will take some time. I remember doing a little each day; adding one feature, and then another.  When I got that down, I moved on. This way, you don’t become overwhelmed, because it does engulf every aspect of your thoughts. Let me preface what I’m about to say with, I am not patting myself on the back at all – my computer skills are strictly limited to word processing, and that is all.  But, I have surprised even me. I set up my website, Twitter, and Facebook account, all on my own. My Fan Page, however, did require some assistance.  But then, the other day, I surprised myself again by adding a  Fan Page “Like” button to my website. What I’m getting at is, if I can do this anyone can. Then, the other day, a sister writer sent a tweet about how she liked Twitter much more than Facebook. I said to myself – “self…I’ve been saying that since the beginning.”  I responded to her tweet, “Does that mean you’re less social if you like Twitter better?” Her answer, “No, you’re more social.” I must say, all of this has taken me, by complete surprise.

To sum up all I’ve been saying is, we have come, somehow into another new millennium, and if you “wanna be” anything, but are not yet involved in any of this social networking, then you’re standing on the outside peering through the window, watching the smoke. Don’t you think you should get on board, and strap in – otherwise you may get left behind choking and gagging on the space dust.

13 thoughts on “A New Millennium

  1. Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading it, you’re a great
    author.I will be sure to bookmark your blog and may come back in the future.
    I want to encourage you to ultimately continue your great posts,
    have a nice holiday weekend!

  2. Hello I am so glad I found your webpage, I really found you by mistake, while I was looking on Digg for something else, Nonetheless
    I am here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a marvelous post
    and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to go through it all at the minute but I have saved it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I
    have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please
    do keep up the great job.

  3. Thanks on your marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed reading it,
    you can be a great author.I will make certain to bookmark your blog and will often come back
    from now on. I want to encourage one to continue your
    great work, have a nice weekend!

Leave a Reply

