Imagination-A Wonderful Gift

Is That My Mother?

Earlier in the week a friend posted this quote on Facebook.  “Anyone who lives within their means suffers from a lack of imagination.” Oscar Wilde.  She got a number of responses from people who really liked the quote, including myself.  As the words began to soak in, it set my mind racing, which prompted this particular post.  Inspiration then, happened to be the very next thing that came to mind.  Since I’m not a scientist, I don’t know how many different types of brains there are, but I do know of two categories; analytical and creative.  Now, my husband studied engineering, beginning with something called a Smoley’s Table that they used way back when, before the calculator, to work out Trigonometry and Geometry problems.  Today, he still thinks in terms of figures or let me just say, systematically.  If he has to come to a decision another way, he is not interested;  he reminds me of the scarecrow in The Wizard of Oz.  (That should leave you scratching your head as to how he even came up with a line that would interest any woman or should I be worried about myself)?

Now for myself, I am just the opposite, I run on the right side of my brain; you know, the creative side.  You all would know that because of how?  All of this writing.  Okay, as the pondering continued, I thought of how these characteristics developed, which took me directly to my mother.  As much as I loved the woman, she used to tell me all the time, “You think to big.”  Let me clarify that; we push our children toward independence, and the minute they grab hold we’re not happy with them there.  She did urge me to be all that I could, but regardless of that fact, she liked everything plain.  I never understood this, since her mother, “thought big.”  I don’t know how the creative end of my gray cells got turned on, but I’m pretty sure it didn’t happen because of the paternal side of the family.

We’re probably all born with whatever talent we have, although no one knows, including ourselves that we have any ability the minute we enter the world.  I have a cousin who has an unbelievable talent for sketching.  I trust he had this gift handed down again, from the maternal side of the family, since a brother of my grandmother had the same genius.  I know people who sing, paint, design clothes; a couple of photographers, and of course many published authors.  Thinking about my creativity and the maternal side of my family, I have to be pretty thankful for those grandparents, and I am.  I wrote a story about them called, “Grandparents – The Sweetest Word,” which sits in my pile of unpublished works.  One day I’ll see it in that book of short stories I planned as novel number four.

Let me get to the point.  I wanted to start the wheels turning and get you thinking about when you knew you had a gift? What is that gift, and most importantly, did you understand on your own that you had the ability?  Did you have someone like a grandparent or an uncle maybe, push you – inspire you, helping you realize your potential?  Now looking back, you realize that craft, whatever it may be, is as comfortable as that old pair of sneakers or that favorite robe.  I must say imagination is a wonderful gift from our Creator, and like Oscar Wilde said, without it we live in mediocrity.

Photo courtesy of iStockphoto.com

2 thoughts on “Imagination-A Wonderful Gift

  1. Hiya! I know this is kinda off topic nevertheless I’d
    figured I’d ask. Would you be interested in trading
    links or maybe guest authoring a blog article or vice-versa?
    My website covers a lot of the same subjects as yours and I feel we could greatly benefit from
    each other. If you might be interested feel free to
    send me an email. I look forward to hearing from you! Superb blog by the way!

Leave a Reply

