Death of a Clydesdale

While the nation celebrates the news of OBL, and the world, a Prince and Princess, is it only Hampton Roads that is aware of the loss of little Tristan; a Clydesdale colt from Anheuser Busch in Williamsburg, Virginia who succumb to his illness on Friday, April 29th?  Big events have filled our senses this week, indeed.  Although the news of Tristan is not earth-shaking, personally, I say it should have made National news.  In fact, instead of the post I planned, I needed to expand on this little tremble through a community.

When I heard the news, I recalled a trip my husband and I made to Virginia to visit my grandmother many years ago.  Whenever we did this we would usually take a few days to spend time here in Hampton Roads.  On this particular visit we managed to get in to see the Clydesdale horses at Anheuser Busch.  Of course, the one time we do, they were all out on tour, and the only ones left were a mother and her colt.  I had never had the fortune to get up close with any horse, so this afforded me quite a thrill.

I can still picture them in my mind’s eye – the friendliness of the mother shocked me as she forced her head against the opening in the stall in order to get a head rub; her ivory mane flowing and curling as she tossed it about.  I remember her a bit smaller than the ones on the television.  Still, who doesn’t love looking as these magnificent creatures.  After all, my most favorite commercial is the Anheuser Busch Christmas advertisement – I could watch that all year-long.  So, in reading this bit of news, a sadness gripped my heart.  Little Tristan is no longer around, and being a male, I can only assume this event would have caused a little hiccup in the family line, if you will – his mother having to maybe start over – try again.  Of course, I’m certain no problem exists in that department.  Anyway, I can imagine her looking for him, because all females, human or in the animal kingdom have a colossal bond with their offspring.  My husband and I often have the discussion about whether the animal mother realizes what has happened when her baby dies.  Deep in my heart I want to believe in some form or another, she does understand.

Again, as mentioned at the top of this piece; with everything going on, I’d like to stop for a minute – maybe the Nation can simply close their eyes for a mere ten seconds, and throw a small salute to little Tristan.

Photo courtesy of iStockPhoto

Follow this link for the story, courtesy of the local WTKR – News Channel 3  http://www.wtkr.com/news/dp-features-busch-gardens-colt-death,0,2194138.story?track=rss

Leave a Reply

